HOMEMADE GRANOLA.

Granola is one of my favourite foods, both as a cereal, a snack or as a topping with yoghurt and fruit. Instead of having overpriced supermarket granola, filled with sugar and additives, I decided to make my own guilt free version to enjoy as often as I like!

Aside from the oats, the ingredients and quantities can be flexible depending on what it is you prefer. I love almonds so I included both flaked and crushed for a variety of textures. I have also tried adding cacao nibs, raisins and dried apricots.

INGREDIENTS.

-Oats

-Dates

-Hazelnuts

-Flaked Almonds

-Almonds

-Walnuts

-Honey – I used Orange Blossom Honey

-Coconut Oil

IMG_4247

METHOD.

Preheat the over to 180°.

Crush the almonds, hazelnuts and walnuts – I used a pestle and mortar to do this but you could also use a sharp knife. Mix the crushed nuts with the oats until evenly dispersed.

IMG_4246

Melt a teaspoon of coconut oil with a tablespoon of honey in a saucepan. Then pour in the oats mixture. Mix together ingredients. If the texture seems dry then add more honey or oil.

Then remove from the heat.

Place in a baking tray lined with baking paper. Bake for roughly 30 minutes, until golden brown.

Chop the dates into small chunks and add to the mixture once it has been removed from the oven. Leave to cool!

IMG_4250

Leave a Reply

